The Green Place

By thegreenplace

Holding Europa up

In the centre of the European Quarter in Brussels they have been digging down and knocking down to create first of all a new shiny train-underground hub out of the decrepit Schuman station (a cold, dirty, disgrace for too many years and the place I have to commute in and out of every day) and second the future home of the European Union President. Right now it is a big hole with the remains of the Art Deco Residence Palace building held up by these huge metal beams. It reminds me a bit of spider for reasons I can't quite work out.

When finished (apparently in 2014 but I have my doubts) it will look like a big glass box as you can see here: http://www.european-council.europa.eu/the-institution/europa-building.aspx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.