The Wren

By TheWren

Sun kissed

What a difference a morning makes - when the sun shines!

We were out promptly for our walk - I was about to say early but then I thought of how early serious blippers get up and I changed my mind! Anyway the wood looked fabulous; the sun lit up the bare branches and caught the odd remaining leaf, colouring it a radiant sienna; shadows sprung up emphasising shapes of trees and highlighting trunks and branches. Even the leaves underfoot, darkened by numerous booted feet, were glistening in the sunlight despite remaining squidgy to stand on. The bracken though is starting to show its age and looks dark, heavy laden and drooping. However occasionally a still sprightly fern was caught in the sunlight and came alive this morning! So I blipped one!

The sun has now disappeared again!

This afternoon I am continuing to prepare battens for the future repair of my shed roof, the problem being that in this damp weather the primer and paint have taken a lot longer to dry. Anyway, I'm getting there. I also have had to buy a new aquarium so need to transfer the fish into their new home without upsetting them too much and it will take me a while to empty the original tank and fill the new one etc. I think a glass of wine with Strictly at Wembley will be just the ticket at the end of the day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.