My Magic Kingdom

By HRHCinderella

Balloon Mission

Up before sunrise today on a mission to photograph hot air balloons. LuvU2 and I booked this photography course outing ages ago and the day finally arrived. We had to meet at the launching site at 4:45am. It was also a Blip meet. shellyd gave us the details of the course and it was a pleasure to met her today.

It really was a photographers dream assignment with the sunrise creating a changing sky, soft clouds giving the blue sky some interesting patterns and 3 colourful balloons full of excited guests. We wished we were the ones on board!

We collected a storybook of images and can recreate the events of the adventure because that is what a hot air balloon ride is - an adventure!

It was amazing watching the team set up. Rolling out the balloons and then using fans to inflate them. We were able to step inside and take photos of the huge cave it becomes. Then the baskets are attached and the helium is fired into the balloon as it is pulled into an upright position. Lastly the people climb in and are given the safety speech. Then ever so lightly, the balloon just lifts off the ground and floats up into the sky. The professional balloon team are from Discover Ballooning and have some more wonderful photos on their website.

When all the balloons had launched we ended our morning with a breakfast at the windmill restaurant. LuvU2 and I decided today was the Admin Dept end-of-year event and I think we will do this again next year, except next year we will go up in the balloon and fly over the dam too!

My next stop today was back at school where I helped with the Pre-Primary and Grade R orientation morning. The little ones had time to meet their new teacher and see their new classmates and classroom. Such a precious time in their lives.

When I got home I uploaded the photos and after a little while I could barely keep my eyes open. I had an afternoon nap and then a swim to cool off. Our heat wave just continues and as I write a lovely thunderstorm is bringing us some relief.

I can sum up the day with two words: Mission Accomplished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.