Clare Fowler

By AnsdellClare

They have arrived!

I knew the blackbird chicks would hatch while I was on holiday and sure enough, they did. There are three chicks in the nest, which has been very closely guarded by Mum, since all the nest building business began!

I did make a sad discovery of a dead male blackbird, not long after the pair set up home in my pyracanthus hedge, but it turned out not to be Dad after all.
I made another sad discovery last night...a tiny dead blackbird chick, much smaller than these three, on the lawn. I disposed of it in a fitting manner!

I know you can only see one of these chicks properly, but there is a second beak to the right of the picture and number three is keeping his head down! Wise one!

Heidi, my dog, loves nothing better than to annoy them, especially when a parent bird is bringing them food, as they are much more vocal then, but so far they have managed to keep a safe distance. I will try to keep her away when they learn to fly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.