Chiara

By Chiara

Frosty Paws

This dog park in Addison is by far the best dog park I've ever been to, and that even includes the one in San Francisco with the amazing view of the city and the Pacific Ocean. This one is actually part of a forest preserve, with paths, ponds, and clearings. Charlie loved this place so much that my grandma and I actually had to pull him away from his new friends.

Every time I visit a dog park, the familiar desire of having a dog of my own makes its way back into my mind and heart. I have to tell myself that now is not the right time, with my busy schedule, tiny apartment, and two cats. Once I get a dog (hopefully in the near future), you bet it'll be one of the regulars at the nearest dog park. I love dog parks. They're always bustling with happy and playful dogs, who can lift even the darkest mood.

One day, if I ever have a large disposable income, I'd love to buy an old house and turn it into a shelter for dogs and cats, but without cages. They'd actually live there on couches, beds, and chairs, and volunteers would come around and help take care of them until they get adopted. It would cost a lot of money, but it'd be worth it. Nothing is more heartbreaking than seeing a scared and lonely dog in a cage, counting down its days, not having a clue whether or not he/she would end up in a loving home.

I can't wait to rescue a dog. If I could, I'd turn into the local crazy dog lady!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.