The Memory Keeper

By athousandwords

The Unmade Bed

It is a rare occasion when you see this bed looking tidy. It's not that I'm a complete slob (I'm not, honest!) but somehow I just never manage to get round to it. Plus, by the time I do end up making it, it's time to sleep and the mandatory cold-bed-wiggle undoes all my hard work!
Now, as you can see from the state of my duvet, I am not a sound sleeper... The idea for this blip came to me at around 2am whilst I was doing my version of a crocodile's "death roll" with my duvet in the hopes of finding a comfy position. Anyway, I decided to introduce you all to my two favourite sleeping positions (please note these are SLEEPING positions, I am currently reveling in the world of singledom and therefore this bed is mine and mine only!)

Position 1 - The Starfish
Sprawled in the most ungainly manner, usually face down, with limbs splayed at varying degrees to the body. The aim of this position is to take up as much bed surface as is physically possible. Not suitable for colder conditions.

Position 2 - The Foetus (this one is pretty self-explanatory)
Curled up, in a ball, like an extremely oversized, well... Foetus.

There are many variants of these positions, for one thing I woke up last weekend with my whole duvet save one corner in a heap on the floor, the remaining corner being the one that was meant to be covering my so-called modesty. As if you'd need modesty when you're the only one home. The cats really don't seem to care :)

Inevitably, due to the constant wriggling and altering of the aforementioned positions throughout the night, it would be whimsical to think that my hair should stay in it's original style for the whole recommended 8 hours.

I find that "Chubacca-esque" is the best way to describe the resulting look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.