It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The One that Got Away

Still in Edinburgh today!

The morning was a quiet one, with only a trip to the supermarket....I was a pain as ever, objecting to everything that Rosemary put in the trolly on ethical grounds.

I love the cooking rule.... I cook at my house n Rosemary cooks at her house. As she had lunch on, I walked down to Newhaven harbour and got today's blip. Nothing exciting, apart from me enjoying using my camera on manual.

Lunch was brill....a modern twist on a tattie scone, using butternut squash instead of tattie, with lovely savoy cabbage, butter beans and a creamy cider sauce. Good work Rosemary!!

We then went into town to try a new(ish) cafe called Brass and Copper in William Street. I loved the place. I awarded the coffee 62%; it was a Union Coffee blend, think burnt toffee with a hint of cherry, very rich flavour and low acidity. The roast was very dark and the shot maybe slightly under-extracted/over volumous. 62% isn't bad....in fact the coffee was excellent but I prefer a modern light-medium roast with higher acidity more akin to Square Mile.

The ginger cake was exceptional though, very moist, rich and with the stem ginger kicking through and a light drizzle of icing....I can't fault it.

The cafe had a black and white photography exhibition on too...beautiful simple prints that I loved. There was also a beautiful posh lass sitting under the print of a tree and her clothes contrasted perfectly with the background....I was too shy to ask for a pic though! The perfect blip that got away!

We then walked back through town to Valvona and Crolla as I hadn't spent the vouchers Ola gave me for my birthday. I purchased a fine bottle of port, some Sicilian olive oil that I thought was nearly half the price it was and some posh dried mushrooms! Eeek well over budget but real treats! Thanks Ola!!

Then back to Rosemary's to pack up and then an uneventful journey back to Broadbottom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.