Dear Heart

By dearheart

An Easy A

Dear Heart,
I can't risk sleep without capturing something of today: it's been just the loveliest anyone could ask for!
After possibly seducing my lecturer yesterday (please don't ask, it was really nothing for us to fight over), I was terrified for today's seminars. But they were lovely - I find it so easy to speak up now, to share whatever small nuggets of thought have pooled in my mouth, and people seem to respond to what I say.
Becca and I danced to Bollywood music before I left for the pool, and every inch of my body felt buzzing with life as I swam up and down. Fifty lengths, and each one was like a proclamation - I am alive.
I wanted to post a picture of Siân, who makes most days so lovely, but I'm not sure she'd approve entirely. We trawled trinket shops looking for a baptism present for Lucy (success!) and ate burgers belching lettuce in one of Our Places. The three of us (Siân, Lucy and I) giggled incessantly throughout CU - I must admit my mind was not on matters of heavenly consequence.
So much of life, dear Heart, is really just about small snatches of pleasure hung like gems on a chain. Today was like a whole necklace-full of treasures! It ended with all three of us lounging decadently on my bed, snacking on Pringles and cheap chocolate, watching Emma Stone be wonderful. How could anyone ask for more?
Love, Lydia x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.