Books in the sun

It was hot in the sun on the terrace of the village café where we had a coffee after buying some books in the English-language sale, the only ex-pat event we're ever tempted by. Lo Jardinièr had to bring me home when I began to argue, in a very reasoned way I thought, with an Englishwoman who said that Occitan and Welsh were 'dead languages' and suggested to me that everyone in Europe should speak English so that we can 'understand one another's cultures'. I tried to explain that if we all spoke the same language there wouldn't be different cultures....I don't think I convinced her.

This image is for LocalFoodLover and Pilipo because this is the table where we sat to have lunch at our Blipmeet in September and I know LocalFoodLover loves books as much as I do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.