Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

Hand in hand

I had a lovely, but tiring day. Master Four Year Old and I caught up with my cousin and her daughter for a few hours, and I chased the kiddies around with a camera... Literally chased... While taking photos.
Noooo, come baaaa....*click click click*...ck now *click click click*...

My cousin and I have an on again, off again history. Not by our own choice. Our family is, for lack of better words... Pretty screwed up. Never at any point has everyone managed to sit in the same airspace without wanting to seriously hurt someone else. And we suffered because of it. The last time I saw her, Master Four Year Old was not even a year old. Now she has her own toddler.

Like me, she's a young mum. But she's a great mum. Her little girl is incredibly adorable. I was worried that because of all the years out of contact, it would be a little awkward between us, but it wasn't. It wasn't like no time had passed, but it just felt right. We're both adults now, and the family politics that have kept us apart aren't significant now. Not to US. We've decided not to let the family issues ruin US as much as everyone else.

It's plain to see from the photo that Master Four Year old and my niece got along well. My little man was such a big boy, and was very much acting like a caring older brother. It was quite emotional for me, actually. I couldn't help taking this photo of them in the process of walking away from us un-cool mums.

Blood really is thicker than water.

"Just put your hand in mine,
I'll show you the way.
Never mind your worries,
Never mind your fears."
~ Come On Back - Third Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.