Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Alternate Thursdays

On alternate Thursday evenings, I am to be found in the back room of the Neidpath Inn with the Peebles Folk Club.

This would surprise some because, at school and at university, I regarded folk music as the work of the very devil. No diddly diddly music for me; I was a committed fan of Pink Floyd, Frank Zappa, Led Zeppelin, Soft Machine and Steely Dan. And I still listen to all of these (except Soft Machine, though that really should be addressed someday).

Anyway that has all changed, and the opportunity to join in with friends, have a couple of pints (of Guinness, of course), some great banter and a good selection of tunes is an experience I always look forward to.

And it's not just traditional Scots music that you will hear. Only two weeks ago, two of us did a rousing version of Honky Tonk Women, which went down pretty well. And there's some funky samba rhythms to be heard some nights too. But it's all acoustic, and that's one of the joys of it. No faffing about with leads and amps; just that natural acoustic sound.

Nice....

Find out more here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.