A Year In The Life Of ...

By Gruffalo

Growing Up

After my Daughter, she is the apple of my eye - my Niece.

I was there when she entered the world, probably other than the Doctors and Nurses the first one to see her, as Mom & Dad were at the top end of the bed.

We have had a strong bond from day 1, and up till she was 10/11 she stayed with me every weekend - I used to say when you get to senior school, you wont need your Auntie.

She made me very proud when she passed the entrance exam to one of the top 20 Grammar Schools in the UK.

Her expectance in life has been, to become a Vet, and she has followed that through her Infants, Junior and early Senior years - she will be turning 15 in March 2012 and I just dont know where the time has gone.

I had a long conversation with my Sister tonight as I havent seen them in weeks, and I do like to keep up with how she is doing at School, and to my shock, she has decided that she may not be a Vet after all, and quite likes the Idea of Law and Politics.......David Cameron look out.

Its moments like this I wish my Mom and Dad were around to see it, they would have been 2 proud Grandparents - In a way I have tried to step into the breach for them - not that I wouldnt have been 1 proud Auntie anyway.

I would like to think those weekends at Auntie Gruffalo`s when she was around 3, teaching her the computer, with educational games, went along way in steering her on the right path.

Well done Ash.......love ya loads x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.