L'arriveé

It arrived bang on time at sunrise this morning slanting across the Meadows, a grey curtain of sleet underneath a darkened sky.

It lay in tufts of grass and gathered in drifts amongst the fallen leaves. It was wet enough not to remain for long except on the roofs, and then as if just teasing us as to what might be, the shower passed and the sun came out tentatively to melt what was lying into a messy watery slush.

It might have been supposed that with all the warnings we had had that Edinburgh Council paths department would have thought to grit or clear the paths through the Meadows. However, they hadn't, and this might just indicate how things are going to be and like last year, pedestrians will have to slip slide in slush and snow until the big melt.

With the raw chill factor outside, I'm afraid it the fading birthday roses that have the blip today. They were given to me by son #1 and have lasted nearly 4 weeks, gradually diminishing into dried images of their former selves, but still rather beautiful in their faded glory- a bit like myself you might say.

Yesterday's CTC lunch was a huge success. Even his Lordship who is not known for his sociability and party cheerfulness enjoyed himself hugely.
There is something so comforting to be in with a crowd of people with whom you share so many cycling holidays and experiences. They are the nicest bunch of people to be with, not at all judgemental, and accepting of everyone.

There was a small photographic competition after the meal, which I was fortunate enough to win: fortunate because I held the emotional card with one of my blip photographs featuring a cycling member on his 80th birthday with his young granddaughter.
I have to say, had I been judging I would have perhaps chosen one of the amazing macro shots of a bird and a moth. submitted by someone else.

However I know it's thanks to the 'Blippers Do it Once a Day' slogan of Blipfoto that allowed me such a wide choice of photos from which to select the ones to submit.

In fact someone was heard to say professional photographers should be excluded from the competition. I took it as a compliment but smiled, somewhat guiltily nevertheless, knowing as I do the standard of other people's photos on this site.

But I will house with pride the plaque with my name inscribed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.