A familiar scene

Just snapped this out of my office window, using my phone camera.

This is now a very familiar scene around Christchurch as the earthquake activity moves from emergency response well into the demolition phase.

I hope all you other Blippers are tolerant of the high volume of earthquake-related Blips, but nearly ten months on from the big shake (and well over a year from the first one) it still dominates large parts of our lives.

In fact, it's often surreal. I wake up in my own home, take the same route to work and spend the day in my regular office. The route to and from work is largely unchanged and the parts that are different, I have now adjusted to. So very much business as usual. And then I go somewhere I haven't been for a week and where there used to be a familiar building there is now a vacant lot. In this case, the activity has come to me - there used to be the concrete wall of another building a few feet from my window. My office building is unaffected and the one next door is completely gone.

Strange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.