Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

HANDSOME MEN I HAVE KNOWN

It's late; I'm tired and lacking inspiration after a day feeling lousy due to allergies. Not even yoga could revive me. So I wander round the house looking for a blip. And here he is, my inspiration for the day, Andrew Hall Mackenzie, 1910 - 2000, carpenter; volunteer fireman, Clydebank Blitz survivor; deliverer of ballot boxes in small boats; mature student; father of seven; developer of amusing but dangerous pursuits for winter evenings; carer for the poor, downtrodden, addicted and sick; pyromaniac; dreamer of dreams, encourager of the faint hearted and my all round hero.

On days when I can't be bothered, I hear his voice saying, 'Always work hard and do your best. And mind and write!'

OK, Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.