Journal-001

By JBLongmore

Good Morning Negombo

I met an American guy in Thailand who told me 'when something bad happens on your trip, if you just go along with it, something totally dope will end up happening.' I think he was right.

I was nervous getting on my 2 day flight to Sri-Lanka, the Maldives, and then to London - because I had no access to my money and about 200baht (approx £4) left in my worn out wallet. Luckily my shuttle bus was booked in advance. At about 9pm Bangkok time, then, I jumped on my plane not knowing how I would get by for a day in Sri Lanka.

The flight took 4 hours, adding some extra time for all the f**king around - but I was pleasantly surprised to find out the airline was putting me up in a hotel for the night, with a free transfer...one crisis avoided. I found myself, an hour or 2 later, sitting in a little Sri-Lankan bar with a Dutch OAP couple, 2-definatly-stoned locals, a passed out tuktuk driver, and a fifty-something from Lincolnshire - all buying me drinks. Not a bad night in the end.

I took this pic the following morning, before getting a plane to Male, and then another to London. Negombo was quiet and in the morning I saw it was full of holiday makers...not really my scene, but another stamp in my passport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.