Sugar Magnolia

By cew

This stone hut brought back so many memories today.
My friend Debbie G. lived right across from the school in grade 1.
Workmen were busy at her house everyday putting beautiful rocks all over it.
I collected rocks and could hardly pass one by.
David M. came to school with this beautiful rock with diamonds in it.
I just had to have it.
David said he would sell it to me for 10 cents.
The next day I brought the money and that rock was mine.
I didn't realize until now that David probably stole that rock from Debbie's house. That's why it was cut in half and I could see the *diamonds*.
In Miss Okura's grade 1 class we had to go to the gymnasium to get our booster shot. (immunization cocktail)
Lisa T. started crying so Miss Okura called her a little lamb and let her stay in the class.
David M. threw up right in his books at his desk so he didn't have to go either.
Debbie G. got hit right between the eyes with a baseball and both eyes were very black and blue.
Years later she would cut her eyelashes because they were too long (can you imagine?) and I wondered if it was because of her injury.

It's amazing to me what memories one little stone hut can conjure up.
Or this is a sign of early onset alzheimer's and I should seek help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.