TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Thunderstorm Eclipsing The Sunset~

~A Ridge In Stone Canyon, Arizona~



Had a truly wonderful evening today.
Kind of wished I had not brought my camera.
So I could just sit and watch the sunset.
And listen to the distant Cactus Wren singing.
Echoed by a closer Wren returning the song.
The cooling breeze dropping the temperature to 85°.
Very welcome from the sizzling 104° of an hour ago.
Much thanks to the approaching thunderstorm.

I can hear the sound of distant thunder.
I can see the flash of lightning, not far off.
I can smell the rain moving up the canyon.
I can even hear the rain hitting the ground as it draws nearer.
Splattering on the rocks, the dry brush and the parched sand.
Even though it is still quite some distance away.

What a great display of mother nature, this sunset.
The first few drops are hitting my arms and head.
I better head back to the truck now.
Taking it slow and easy, enjoying every step.
The rain drops are getting more frequent.
Should walk a little faster, watch out for rattlesnakes.
Much better to be wet than snake bit.

Where did I park that gosh darn truck.
I must have walked farther than I thought.
Mesmerized by the desert again.
A what a cruel mistress she is, this desert!
There's the old Ford F-150.
Just about a quarter mile away.
I think I should start running about now.
It is getting pretty moist out here.

Which pocket did I put those keys in.
Where to heck are my truck keys?
Ah, right where I put them, in my camera bag.
Won't do that again, you dumbass!
I slam the truck door on the pouring rain.
Nice and dry and warm in the cab.

The rain, the Cactus Wren songs.
The sunset, the thunder and lightning.
The birds singing and fragrant smells.
The wondrous sights, the awesome desolation.
God, I do love the desert.
I really do love the desert!

Thanks for coming along with me on my sunset hike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.