Blipaholic Deb

By BlipaholicDeb

Festive smoke

Was soooooooo cold this morning at football training. Frost everywhere....why didn't I bring my macro lens??

This afternoon seems like I have spent all my time trying to get my children to complete the smallest tasks! Frustrating!!!!


A few of you have asked how this has been created so here goes.....

Capturing your smoke

Sorry to disappoint but I know of no way of actually capturing smoke against a white background or being able to get coloured smoke, it's all been done in post edit!

Smoke photography tutorial ~ This will probably explain it better than I could with my waffle and it's got some diagrams too.

I actually used natural light for my shot as I am fortunate enough that my kitchen faces south and gets fabulous light and there's plenty of shade behind for my background.

The edit

First thing is to invert! That'll give you the nice white background and some greyish/blackish smoke. Then a simple red tint to change the colour of the smoke and a layer of christmassy snowflakes to complete the festive effect



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.