Big Hill

By bighill

Isolation.

Walking down one of my favorite paths beside our home, i was struck with the contrast between the visual weight of the various seasons. there is such a feeling of abundance during the spring, summer and fall....and here, at this time of year, small and beautiful elements of nature are so isolated!

I spent abour 2 hours this morning laying down the outline and composition for the first ever real 'still life' exercise - and all that is in this painting is a buttercup squash sitting on a napkin!!! how much longer will it take me to do an imagine with more than one element! well this is just the beginning, and i'm being patient with myself, following the instructions, and of course there is a strong temptation to skip many of the steps - so i can get to the 'real' painting part.....but i had a good time. got totally engrossed to the point of realising i hadn't eaten for a few hours. Gives me the idea that maybe if i let myself be totally taken over by the need to paint i might actually loose that 10lbs i've been wishing away :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.