A Long Long Way

I had a very productive day getting ready to head upto Bristol for the weekend. For reasons best known to... well I have no idea... I felt the need to blitz the house AND garden before I picked the children and set off.

Anyway, I collected the children and off we went. Luckily I heard on the radio before we had left Falmouth that the A30 was shut at Bodmin. Now I have never been Upcountry any other way than the A30. Those that know me will also appreciate my most excellant navigational skills. But I stayed calm and planned my route.

As we passed through St Austell, the moon was just rising and looked enormous. I told Bella to try and get some pictures, ideally involving tree silhouetes silouhetes silhoetes outlines or moorland or hills or even traffic lights and car lights... This was the result.

On with the epic journey. All was going well until I reached the A38. Now in my head I didn't need to go anywhere near the A38. And certainly not towards Plymouth. So I went the other way. Then realised that Bodmin was not the best place to head. So I rang Ben and all but cried down the phone at him. But ever my hero he directed me via Liskeard and Callington and finally safely back onto the A30 at Launceston.

Reminds me of the time I dropped Ben off at Cardiff Airport then had to stop at services (it was pre mobile phones) to ring my Dad and ask if I needed to catch the M4 towards Swansea or Newport to get home...

I must also mention that during this epic drive, the moon caused Lily to start her (often heard) monologue about Selena who lives on the moon with aliens and spacenauts and Lady Gaga...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.