alice's adventures

By aliceblips

Scotland The World Over

I took part in Scotland The World Over


This is a portrait of my maternal Great Grandfather, Sir Hugh Roberton.

He was a very noble and famous Scottish man.

He founded and conducted the world famous Glasgow Orpheus Choir.

His knighthood was for his outstanding contribution to choral music - an arts knighthood was very rare in his day.

Here we are connected through the ages, through four generations and through the vast change in technology that divides his world and mine.

Here we are connected, as if by magic, through the art of photography.

Isn't that a thing.

I'm proud of my heritage, my birthplace and his Scotland.


I made a total meal out of creating this image.

A lot was involved; balance, light, waiting for the sun to come out, picture hanging, blu tac, downloading apps, an iphone, an ipad, a camera and a laptop. Apart from a little contrast and brightness tweaking and the colour of the saltire the structure of the image was produced completely in camera.

That's dedication for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.