notabeve_dosolare

By notabeve

To Market, To Market

A trip to the farmer's market this morning yielded a lot of the things I'll serve for Christmas Dinner. The haul included some locally produced cheeses to tuck into RS's stocking at the last minute too.

Cheese production is a fairly new enterprise in Saskatchewan. The last ones we tried were a treat so this time I got two different ones as well as the chevre that I love. One day last summer I couldn't find the stall that sells it. That was a bit of a worry because things can be tenuous for a fledgling business. However the farmer explained the next week that the weanling kids had jumped their fence and drained the does of the milk she needed to make cheese. Cheese with a story. I have a little smile to myself every time I put some of it on toast now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.