Somerset House, The Strand, London

D and I went o London with two good friends of ours and I played tour gide - not sure how I managed to be teh best at wandering around knowing how to get from A to B especially when I started life in Scotland!!

Our first port of call from Charing X station was the tube to Hyde Park to visit Winter Wonderland which was amazing but it was sooooooooo busy way too many peopel getting in the way of my photos; next stop was the lights of Oxford and Regent Streets followed by Piccadilly Circus and through the boarded up Leicester Square. We continued along the Strand and stopped into Somerset House which is so pretty and decked in totally exquisite colours. From there we crossed over the road and spent some time in Covent Garden watching street performers - oh and we saw the most beautiful Christmas Tree (if I go back that way in the next week or so I will certainly try to blip it) finishing up at Trafalgar Square listening to carol signers under the tree stopping off for home hot chocolate 9coz we missed teh train by seconds so had a 30 min wait and it was way too cold to hang around the station) before we headed back to ours for snacks and a chat. Phew I'm used to walking but my legs ached (and it didn't do my painful knee any good as ouch it hurts even more).

My only criticism (which isn't really a criticism) is that I know I prefer wandering around taking photos on my own - last night I was always getting left behind when I stopped so rather than thinking and waiting I was quickly snapping away all rushed :(

This shot is the entrance/exit to Somerset House, I liked the light on this - having had a bit of a drought on blips recently it was kinda nice having a night where choice was a tad on the difficult side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.