The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Goosander

After meeting my friends from the photography class for brunch and a natter, I decided to go down to the River Don near the city centre to see what was about. It had started to rain by then, so not ideal conditions for photographs. I caught sight of a kingfisher almost immediately, but was unable to get my camera into position before it flew off. It flitted around several branches, so I got some good views, and resigned myself to watching rather than struggling to photograph it. There was a heron, plenty of gulls and mallards, a few moorhens, and as I had hoped, this fine male goosander. He stayed around just long enough for me to get a couple of shot before flying upstream and out of sight. This bird holds a special place in my heart, as a posse of female goosanders upstream from this point was my first ever blip, about 11 months ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.