Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Longest Night

The winter solstice passes by now, and it's been a warm day for this time of year, with a bit of rain earlier. My cold has finally ended after about ten days of sneezing and hard shivering.

This was what part of the city skyline looked like when I rode my bike to the main post office to retrieve a parcel of winter gifts from my sweetheart. Before doing that I stopped at Food Not Bombs to gather gifts of food, finding very little left. I arrived 15 minutes after the starting time and was told that "Everything went quick. A lot of people were waiting." Such are the times. Butternut squash will be on my plate very soon.

After the post office I stopped at a bookstore to use a gift card I found in my mail slot in the morning. I chose a book on the Deist beliefs of several founding fathers of this country. Then I stopped at another store for a few food items, and then home. It was a delight to open my parcel and to know I'm loved. In this humble life, each good thing stands tall and every good friend looms bright in the mind's sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.