Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

Plate by Robin Banks

Although I don't think twice about spending a fortune on books, I am terribly mean and uncertain when it comes to spending on original artworks. This is one of very few exceptions.

Long, long ago I was crazy enough annually to mark Higher English papers for the, then ,S.E.B. In exchange for the loss of the soft evenings and weekends of May I, like countless others, gathered expertise and insight which helped our students in the years which followed.

In my final year of marking, when a promotion had made the money less of a driving force, I decided that I would reward my years of trusty service by buying something I would otherwise consider an absolute luxury.

This copper enamelled plate is by the artist, muralist and enameller, the late Robin Banks. This was the best article I could find about her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.