Consider the Lilies

By skambalu

Aya Sofya cat

Visited Aya Sofya today. Beautiful... and hundreds of lovely photos! But I couldn't resist this cat, curled up in the warmth of the light that was shining up at the mihrab. Reminds me of when I was young - I used to curl up next to any radiator I could find and fall asleep, preferably with a good book.

Amazing to see the Aya Sofya mihrab directly underneath a mosaic of Mary and Jesus - and to see the Virgin and Child in between the Arabic names of Allah and his Prophet. Quite a place!

We then headed over to the Blue Mosque, but as it was just before prayers, we couldn't get in. So we now have an excuse to go back!

It was a wet day, but our spirits were not dampened - and neither were those of the fishermen that we met on the Galata Bridge. Amazing to see the number of spats they could catch at once! And later we enjoyed fish bread from a boat tossing around on the river. Delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.