Simply Me

By Suze981

Spiney

This is my big sister Jane. She's lying on the couch at the moment watching the Muppets Christmas Carol.

Jane had spinal surgery 5 weeks ago. She has degenerative disc disease and they fixed some titanium screws into her spine to hold her spine in place and stop the discs rubbing together. Most of the time she is couch bound but she's recovering really well.

She fractured her back in a skiing accident when she was 13/14 years old (I forget exactly which one) and that year spent Christmas lying on her back in the living room. This time she'll be able to sit at the table with us. YAY!

I used to be jealous that she always had the cool scars and casts (she's had a few broken bits over the years). Now I'm pleased that my bones appear unbreakable. This year for Christmas, I just want her not to be in pain.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.