Let There Be Light

By solli

Harry Said To Say Hi

I stayed on the couch all day watching a Wife Swap marathon and eating leftovers until I couldn't stand it any longer, so about 3:30pm I told the hubby I had to go, I was driving myself bonkers and I needed to find Harry.

The light at Echo lake was beautiful, the air so clear that I felt supremely happy just to be alive. A fisherman saw my camera and asked if I got the kingfisher. Kingfisher? After talking to him for awhile I understood that the bird who had gamed me last week wasn't a woodpecker as I'd thought. The little kingfisher was perched far across the lake and all I got was a few blurry shots but that was ok; it was time to look for the heron.

Harry was settled in by a little bridge, eyeballing insects, stretching his neck and hunkering down just as he always does. He let me get pretty close before he decided I was a tad too close, then he lifted those great wings and flew off into the sunset as I furiously tried to focus the camera to no avail.

He must have been preening himself since there were feathersstuck to his beak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.