Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Moose with Antenna

Another grey day and after talking about this yesterday I just thought I would blip it after all even tho H is yelling at me "But it's Temporary!" He has been trying to find a spot for the TV antenna to work in the cabin and I must admit, this did work. However, I think it's going to go outside...... But I don't think I've blipped the moose before so here's it's story--when we built this cabin in the woods in 1993, H said he thought a cabin needed a ratty old motheaten moosehead on the wall. I wouldn't have anything that had been alive so I was happy when our son gave us these antlers which were attached to something covered with red velvet. I figured they were shed. Well after taking off the red velvet, it looked a lot like skull to me. But here they were. so I made a paper mache head (Not great with the proportions..) a little at a time on our visits --there was no heat yet and the paper mache wouldn't dry well so it took several trips here and layers of paper and then paint. It was the beginning of what seems likes hundreds of moose that people have delighted in giving us over the years even tho we cry "Enough!" some are hanging from the antlers.... If I get really hard up I could blip moose many times. (don't worry I don't plan to!) There are something like 900 moose in British Columbia and the state of Washington but not on these islands!! The newest additions to our collection from Christmas gifts are a moose pillowpet (from guess who) and a very creative sink drain with a moose to pull to open it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.