Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

The Black Prince

This is part of the Leeds City Centre landscape that I have passed by for years. I have used app processing on it which gives the effect that it is underwater, which is how I feel at the moment due to a head full of cold!

I can't breath through my nose and can't sleep so blipping and watching Scarface at 3.30am Friday morning.

Back to the Black Prince. (15 June 1330 - 8 June 1376) Named Edward of Woodstock, Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornwall, Prince of Aquitaine, was the eldest son of King Edward III of England and father to King Richard II of England.

A military leader, with victories over the French at the Battles of Crécy and Poitiers. In 1348 he became the first Knight of the Garter, of whose Order he was one of the founders.
Edward died one year before his father, becoming the first English Prince of Wales not to become King of England.

I'm not a royalist but I do like to know about the history around us. I wouldn't have known about this Prince if it wasn't for the statue and the web! As a child I always wanted to know more and always asked. 'what' and 'why' to the point of annoyance for my parents. Now so much information is at your finger tips.

Thank you for all your kind comments on the web drops :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.