Eye love

By Ikke

Ode to Krentenbollen

Good-bye 'til we meet again in a year's time.

I had to have my last krentenbollen today from my favourite kraam (best in Den Haag in my humble opinion is near the main library). And there I encountered a queue for the first time - and I mean a decent one - and bags and bags of oliebollen were being dished out left right and centre. So bought two - one to be consumed à la place and one for later. Later came quicker than I thought! So here it is in it's full glory before consumption.

(The Oliebollen & family are annual delicacies not to be passed over the lips after 31 December until early November the next year...and by the end of December it seems that every possible place that can sell them will try and get rid of them, so this 'enemy' is no longer heard or seen until the next year).

Now I sit here with a satisfied look on my face and it still sounds like a war zone outside...fireworks been going off non-stop since the early hours of the morning today.

Happy Healthy & Peaceful New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.