Gitama's World

By Gitama

MOON FLOWERS @ Waxing Gibbous 63%

How lucky am I...........tonite I drove for 30 mins to spend the evening at my friends place to witness the opening of over 60 moon flowers.

I got there around 6.30 we drank tea and chatted and watched the moon come up and the flowers open. All in all it was a 3 hour (could of been longer) vigil....... and 196 pics......I was like a kid in a candy shop.

As the moon started to shine her light the flowers opened more and more and they exuded this delightful fragrance which became stronger as the flowers opened wider (a little like the fragrance of Magnolia Grandiflora) .

To see this amount of Moon Flowers opening at the same time is a once in a lifetime thing and I feel blessed to of been there.

I got home around 10.30 and had to download and then choose which one.......(very hard job)........it's now 11.30 way past my bedtime and I've had to make a choice.
This is one of the last ones I took when the flowers had opened wide.......two different torches were illuminating the flowers one warm tungstan and the other a cool bluish torch......so this lighting happened naturally.

I will have to find some time and do some stuff on my blipfolio and post some of the other pics.......the process of tight buds to open flowers as big as dinner plates is amazing.......I would love to share them with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.