Mr Goosander

Today's the day ........................ to stick together

It was freezing cold in work today. A couple of weeks of not having any heating on in the building meant that it wasn't going to warm up quickly. By lunchtime I reckoned I needed a brisk walk to get the blood circulating and I headed for the River Kent. As I crossed over the bridge to the other side, I saw an amazing sight.

There were fourteen goosanders - all swimming one behind the other in the slipstream of a small grassy island in the middle of the river. The river was in flood and the water flowing fast - it was as much as they could do not to get carried off downstream.

They were working as a team - ten females and four males like this one. Such beautiful, exotic looking birds - quite made me forget about the cold for a while ....................................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.