ijil Rainbow Hawk Giver

By ijilRHG

Small Bit of Color

When I joined Blipfoto in 2011 I thought that I would post a photo more or less when I wanted to which for the first couple of weeks was almost everyday.

Then I started looking at the other journals at Blipfoto and for the most of the months of June and July, even into August, I moved between terrified and 'I'll post NOTHING if it is not really good' which by the way is a complete well-baked recipe for journal disaster and very few blips.

Then I took on the 'PROJECT' approach meaning I would blip something that might have a 'reason' to be photographed, but not really be a good photo, but it didn't matter as it was something to blip and I was using my little camera.

For most of the autumn I moved between Project and Nothing, with a few moments of "I think this one is okay"; trying to post a photo everyday, but not freaking out if I did not.

New topic and a bit of history ~
For several years I have done one thing everyday for 365 days, a whole year.
One year it was greeting the sun bare foot on the ground where ever I was.
Another year it was reading my horoscope in the newspaper to see if there was something that I could put with that day that might seem relevant to the horoscope--I know freaky.
Another year, it was walking around the block at least once a day.
So historically I had already been on 'a something every day for a year' regimen for a while. But most of the other years 'the something' did not involve much other than just moving my body. With Blipfoto it was actually more like being very aware every moment of the day and being willing to stop (even for a few seconds) to snap whatever it was that I saw. And it involved carrying extra stuff along with me where ever I went--this was new--and even though I only have a little pocket camera, it was one more thing.

Another new topic ~
As I entered the Autumn of 2011, I actually thought it was within my grasp to end the year with everything in my life completed, fixed and working properly. Everything paid off, every commitment completed, every borrowed thing returned, every personal relationship in peace, every thing that was mine to do, done.
I was successful -- with everything that only involved me.
Those things that require something from others to be complete = not so much.
So it is that this year has started with just a small pile of unresolved items, albeit some of the largest items to be sure. All the little things have been done, I have the biggest items saved for the last, and 2012 will be a good year to get them completed.

Please lend a prayer for the completion to all the outstanding divorce issues. That the bullying, passive-aggressive behavior and threats will cease, the monies that should have been coming regularly for the past four years and have not, will come now. The accurate resolution of all property settlement matters and final separation of names and deeds. The kids continue on their way where they are going (this part is actually on track). Resolve these things so I can move on with my life and be on my way via my beloved traveling and unfettered access to the future... I am but a sigh away from complete contentment.

So today my photo is just a splash of color from a high rise bridge, over and beyond the trees, under the ever-present telephone lines, held in by the metal guardrails, through a filthy car window with crinkled window tinting and a dab of birdshit catching someone else's reflection.
Not the clear view I was looking for, but still looking in the proper direction.

Happy 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.