Click goes the Shutter

By RomaWhaup

Granny Binnie

Meet Granny Binnie - she's my maternal great grandmother, born Agnes Rowan, in 1872, in Minigaff (which, according to Google maps, is near Newton Stewart, although the rest of her large family were born further north in Ayrshire) . She died in 1954.

She had six children and my grandmother was the fifth. In this photo she is with her three eldest children - Jean, Marion and George - so I think the photo must have been taken in 1896 or 7.

Granny Binnie (as my Mum always calls her) was also Alison's maternal great grandmother (Marion was her grandmother). Neither Alison nor I have any first cousins, but we have lots of second cousins through Granny Binnie and it would be fun to get us all together one day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.