cherish what remains

By clothgirl

hedvig

I was given an extraordinary gift today. I got to be present at the birth of this beautiful little girl, Hedvig.

This is her first official portrait, taken moments after her arrival.

She was born at home with a midwife, her father, mother and me. I was honored to be included in their family for this most significant event. The fact that I have no children of my own and had never witnessed a birth before made the event even more special. I am in awe.

I'm sure I will have much more to say about it in the days to come, but I don't think I have quite processed the experience yet. All I know is that I am deeply in love with this little human.

I have to go finish knitting that baby blanket, oh, and start her college fund.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.