Look to this Day

By Chasimoto

City Run

My intention today was to run with Dave. I have resolved to go on more walks (or runs) with friends this year and will make particular efforts on friends' birthdays. Unfortunately Dave had an important call to take about the time that we were supposed to run. I still ran by his office and when I arrived he was out running. Hmmm, maybe he just wanted to be alone today. I knew his usual route so I ran home hoping to see him and wish him well. Sure enough I saw him right about at Hannaford. Soon after I stopped to talk to Dave, Vin Vereneau ran up. Dave "pushed me" onto Vin and before I knew it Vin and Gerry Conley were introducing me as a new member of their running group. I have seen and heard plenty about this group and know they are fast and consistent. I believe they meet every weekday at the start of the Cove trail at 12:22. Today's slippery footing (thanks to about 2 inches of fluffy snow) slowed them down to a pace I could handle. So birthday wishes for a long time friend turns into a possible running group with lots of new friends. As Walker said, "Oh a running group, Mommy will be happy"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.