The Life of a Desk

By Desklife

Paradise Gardens

Or Pontefract Union Workhouse. I thought I'd share another picture from something on the desk that I've been reading through today.

While doing my family tree I discovered my Great Great Great Grandmother died in the workhouse despite coming from an affluent family. I can't find out anything about how she ended up there. I'd like to think she'd been admitted to the infirmary part of the workhouse rather than the actual workhouse itself. Unfortunately the workhouse records are long gone but I discovered this book and hoped it might give me some clues.

It's informative but nothing at all to give me any clues about GGG Granny Esther! I did discover it was known as Paradise Gardens though. I'm pretty sure the "Inmates" as they're listed didn't find anything paradise like about the place!

The desk is still tidy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.