Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

A Day In The Dark

Today was a day of dull grey, clouds and darkness.

Sunday dawned quite bright and sunny, but by the time we'd finished all the jobs, a seriously thick fog had rolled in, accompanied by delightful drizzle. So we thought to ourselves "Where can drizzle and dullness be quite interesting?" The answer we came up with was - the coast.
Though we never got to test the theory, because by the time we got out to the west of Carlisle, the fog had cleared.

A trip out to Silloth, Allonby, Cockermouth and then Keswick for tea. (No stopping, so no photos)

As the light was fading fast I thought we could head up to Castlerigg stone circle, above Keswick and see what we could see.

The circle is one of the most spectacular places I know. After welcoming the new Millennium in up there it has a special place in my heart.

Last year I had tried a little light painting and thought as the sky was so grey and the light really was about gone, I'd light one of the stones with my flash. So after several attempts (I was sure someone was going to see my flash going off and come and see what we were up to) this photo was the best of the bunch.

Next time I think a strong torch might be the answer.

Oh, and a pair of wellies.

Why "A Day In The Dark"?

Well, when we got home the power was off and it wasn't due to come back on again until near midnight.

Scrabble and a roaring fire. Water boiling in the whistling kettle on the hob. Candles everywhere.... and a generator!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.