Enzo the Baker

By Enzo

Mock

exams.

Rather than buy a larger-format, high-sensitivity DSLR like the delicious Nikon D-7000, I'm experimenting with older but faster manual lenses from my OM-40 camera bag.

This is with a 24mm f2 lens. Rather fun to be back in the world of manual focus, and having to stop down (if at all) by hand. TTL metering works, and 24mm is a good standard lens for a 4/3 camera.

I have my eye on a 50mm f/1.4

The equivalent "digital" lens is expensive - and the old lenses are made of glass and metal - wonderful feel, with deeply milled focusing rings. I have a135 f/2.8 which is great for faces in classrooms, and I think slightly sharper than the 24mm.

I've been shooting RAW as well as JPG, and will seek the time to play around with the images.

Meanwhile I have a pile of exam scripts to mark. So my own essay on "autofocus vs manual: compare and contrast" will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.