Stravaiger

By stravaig

Cooking Pots

'Food glorious food.....' as the song goes.

In so-called rich industrialised countries I guess many take good quality and sufficient quantity of food on the table on a daily basis very much for granted. Unfortunately not so for many countries however. And even perhaps for sizeable numbers of poorer folks and families in industrialised countries.

The BBC reported today that 13 Scottish councils have wards where more than 30% of children live in pockets of severe poverty.The worst areas were in Glasgow, the west of Scotland, Edinburgh, Dundee, Fife, Aberdeen and (unhappily) my home city of Stirling.

I'm not a foodie. But I do appreciate the food that is cooked and presented and I eat it with grateful thanks (with two notable exceptions). I grew up in an era when it was difficult to put food on the table. I thought we'd moved past these days but they seem to be returning in austerity Scotland. Shame on us.

Oh, the exceptions? (1) Stovies - had a very bad experience the one and only time I tried them and vowed never to try again - ever!, and (2) porridge. To use and old fashioned phrase I simply got scunnered with the stuff as a child long ago and will not even look at the stuff now.

For those able to enjoy a good meal tonight, please bear a thought for those who are not so fortunate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.