Some Days

By Euphemist

Holiday Backblip - Day Four

Fraser, on...
... The Santa Monica Boulevard!

We went on the first of our trips to various parts of the island of Boa Vista, Cape Verde.

Although it was billed as a quadbike tour, we travelled in style in the Ranger, a 4WD, highly powerful buggy... which got bogged down in the very soft sand and had to be towed out by one of the quads!

(The sand in Cape Verde is blown from the Sahara Desert, about 600km across the Atlantic to the east)

Our guide and driver, named Emerson, was excellent and very keen. he showed us a large chimney near one beach, saying "This is called Breek Killun." Turning to me he asked, "Is this ok? Breek Killun? Breek Killoon? They make breeks for building" "Ah," said me from the superior standpoint of the native English speaker, "Brick kiln!"

"Is this how to say it?" I must have looked embarrassed, thinking I might have seemed condescending. "No, always say if I get it wrong, then I learn"

I feel sure he will soon be fluent, he was a lovely and very bright guy.

Bigger the better

Fraser walks across Santa Monica beach, with the Ranger vehicle and quad bikes behind. The sky remained pewter-grey all day, The only dull (not cold) day of our holiday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.