Too shy to say hello.....

A searing indictment on the state of the economy? 'fraid not....

Had a mooch around the work place hood at lunchtime today - don't know why I said 'hood' because

a) I work in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea - the 'hood' it most definitely is not.
b) I am not an American gansta' rapper.

Anyway, Kensington & Chelsea is stuffed full of beautiful and interesting nooks and crannies, so be warned, it may feature heavily in the future.

I digress, this is in fact Pembroke Studios, once let to eleven artists and sculptors, including Leonard Rosoman RA. It is largely owned by City types now I imagine, but I did see David Hockney outside here last year - I was too shy to say hello.

Loads of artists' studios were built in London between 1850 and 1910, which those clever Victorian and Arts and Crafts folk designed with enormous North-facing windows. The rooms are filled with light that does not change as the sun moves, making them brilliant for life drawing and painting.

There are some fantastic 1890's studios not far from here on Talgarth Road which I will try to Blip soon, because I haven't actually shown you Pembroke at all....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.