Fluid stage

By JMt

100% fit

Finding the perfect running shoe, like finding the perfect partner, is a difficult task. Ironically the first pair of serious running shoes I bought back in the early 90's were the perfect match for my feet. They were a pair of New Balances (the model number escapes me now). I was unaware that I had hit the jackpot first time. The following year they were well overdue replacing so I bought the same model - but they were a shocking fit. NB had changed the country where they were manufactured them and that was enough to alter the fit - such are the nuances of finding the correct shoe. The new model would fit someone else perfectly, but alas not me anymore (the analogy with a partner is still relevant!).

I have tried numerous shoes since (time to leave the analogy alone here) from all the major brands and have had some good fits in the 90-95% range. Though knowing what a 100% fit feels like I have never been content. Forever searching...

This brings me to today's blip; straight out of the box I knew the Inov8 255s were spot on. I've just taken them on a quick 3 miler (would have loved to have gone further - it's a perfect day for it - but my recalcitrant back curtailed it) and it took me back to the highwater mark that first pair of NBs set. Needless to say I'm going to order another pair while the planets are all aligned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.