With One Eye Wide Open

By CB

Blip Challenge #28 / 30 - Slinky

I was totally decided to miss the blip today as I didn't have time to look for an image. I argued in my head that missing one day was no big deal. Yerrright! I guess i'm more hooked than I first thought so here's my blip, an emergency one, of a favorite drink (s) toy that was a present from roommie.

Years ago I used to work for a beer company and those days I was huge on beer drinking. After my move to oz, I decided to try to drink / taste as many different beers as I can but then realised that it wasn't good for my figure. Lol! After a couple of months of drinking different beers each day (sometimes 2 a night) I ended up with a slight but still noticeable "beer belly". Ugh! So that quickly ended my beer drinking adventure.

This photo is our collection of different brand of beer bottles. So why is an L&P can sitting with the beer bottle collection? I dunno. Guess because we love it so much!!! Thanks to Kiwi D for introducing it to us! :)

Regarding the blip yesterday, yes, it is in fact a gas holder. Thanks for the interest which made me do a bit of research and here's what I found out about it.

It is known as the Newstead No.2 Gas Holder. The iconic No. 2 Gasometer was built in 1873, initially at Petrie Bight before being moved to its current location. Before the end of the 19th century it was supplying gas to Brisbane streets from Hamilton to Toowong. Gasworks will be reignited into one of Brisbane's most vibrant mixed used communities with the iconic Gasometer as the centre point of activity.

The remnants of the gasholder and guide framing represents the last of the frame-guided type remaining in Brisbane, and possibly in Queensland. The Newstead No.2 gasholder (remnants) and guide framing, constructed in 1873 from puddled iron and part of the former Petrie Bight gasworks (1865-1887), is significant for its rarity, its robustness and its association with Queensland's first gasworks and a major public utility for 125 years


If not for blip, I probably wouldn't have bothered to learn about it. Unknown structure now identified. Mission accomplished. :)

PS. Excuse the strike throughs. I had an L&P blip but didn't realise the image was taken two mins after midnight until Sleepyhead pointed it out. So instead of my beer bottle collection, you get Slinky that I took a few mins earlier than the L&P shot. :)

Phew, that was close. Disaster averted. Lol. Thanks Mr. S!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.