Stravaiger

By stravaig

Warrior Horseman

This statue is one of the most photographed in Scotland. There will be thousands of images of it all around the world, maybe even hunderds of thousands. It's safe to say that it'll be photographed even more in the run up to the 700th anniversary commemorations of the Battle of Bannockburn in 2014. What vision for Scotland then I wonder? Whatever the outcome, this impressive statue will doubtless continue to impress visitors from all over the world.

One view I will offer though - and I'm not looking for a return to a warrior king - I firmly believe that the quality of political and spiritual leadership in this country is poor for a nation that has produced so many great leaders in the past. Where will the vision and inspiration for the future come from I wonder? Or perhaps our legacy is all that remains.

Watch this space as they say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.