Some Days

By Euphemist

Toastie!

I had intended taking baking potatoes, foil and butter into work today.

We have spent the last couple of frosty days burning the fallen branches and brashwood from the fallen trees in the woodland garden.

To avoid upsetting our honoured guests and members, we have to wait until the golf course is closed before we have a fire because of the close proximity of the seventh hole.

Now a bonfire is a very efficient cooking tool, perhaps a bit short of heat control, but nevertheless gets the job done.

Yesterday I reduced my Ginsters pasty to cinders (perhaps the best thing for it) in a few minutes. So today, after forgetting to buy potatoes etc. and bringing a Co-op chicken, stuufing and red onion sandwich instead I decided to make a toastie.

I unwrapped the sandwich and placed it inside my cooking tin (it was originally a painted biscuit tin, stolen from Euphemia's extensive hoard of potential cake containers, now long used as an oven in fires and over heaters). I then placed the tin on the smouldering beam that the joiners had thoughtfully left, for us to dispose of for them. Then left it for five minutes.

No change in the sandwich.

I turned the beam over onto the now much hotter side and gave it five more minutes.

Vaguely warm, but still not a toastie.

So I took the tin off the beam and put it in the embers at the edge of the fire for two minutes.

I was glad that I had bought an apple at the Co-op this morning, cos I was not eating the blackened mess that had been my sandwich.

Some Days, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.