Mrs Unremarkable

By MrsUnremarkable

Frolicking

Today has been declared a disaster.

We are going round to No 4 Son & girlfriends house tonight & as they are both working late I said I would bring food. As I took the raspberry crunch cake out of the oven I popped in the beef for braising. Out for a yomp with the dogs & back home. What's that strange smell? Opened the oven to find that the glass top on my new casserole pan had shattered. The knob came off in my hand. So I left it to cool down a bit & carefully lifted the lid off. Got it clear of the dish before it shattered.
Dilemma - do I carry on & not say anything & take the dish round for tea or not? Tasted fine, stirred it up & could hear a scraping sound. Fished out a bit of glass. Hmm. Might just have been one stray piece. Stir it again, another scrape. Shit, shit, shit. Even I can't serve that up now.

Turn my attention to the cake. That doesn't look normal. Lift it out of the tin & it breaks in half. Consult the recipe & guess what - I didn't put any flour in.
So, I have poured myself a huge gin & tonic & have decided that I will treat us all to a takeaway tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.